☰ MENU

Our 2018-2019 Staff & Contact Information

Welcome back to another great school year at Desert Star!

Please use this page to see who our amazing staff is that will be working with your children this year and to contact them via email or phone. 

Catherine Wood, Principal
623-772-4605
Email: cwood1@avondale.k12.az.us

Laura Cuellar, Assistant Principal
623-772-4606
Email: lcuella@avondale.k12.az.us

PreSchool-ACE 


Lisa Steinman
623-772-4632
Email: lsteinm@avondale.k12.az.us

Kindergarten

Hannah Robinette
623-772-4630
Email: hrobine@avondale.k12.az.us

Kathy Cooper
623-772-4629
Email: kcooper@avondale.k12.az.us

Celina Torres (K/1)
623-772-4638
Email: ctorres@avondale.k12.az.us


First Grade

Krystel Martinez
623-772-4636
Email: kmartin@avondale.k12.az.us

Kate Walliser & Dulce Resendiz
623-772-4637
Emails: kwallis@avondale.k12.az.us; dresend@avondale.k12.az.us

Celina Torres (K/1)
623-772-4638
Email: ctorres@avondale.k12.az.us


Second Grade

Sarah Barron
623-772-4639
Email: scordov@avondale.k12.az.us

Robyn Burch
623-772-4640
Email: rburch@avondale.k12.az.us

Jordan Murray
623-772-4641
Email: jmurray@avondale.k12.az.us


Third Grade

Allison Lesak
623-772-4642
Email: alesak@avondale.k12.az.us

Courtney Kelkenberg
623-772-4643
Email: ckelkenberg@avondale.k12.az.us


Fourth Grade

Irene Hvidhyld
623-772-4646
Email: ihvidhy@avondale.k12.az.us

Sheryl Schaffran
623-772-4647
Email: sschaff@avondale.k12.az.us

William Jones
623-772-4645
Email: wjones@avondale.k12.az.u


Fifth Grade

Annie Ewing - Science & Social Studies
623-772-4649
Email: mewing@avondale.k12.az.us

Gayle Thompson - Language Arts
623-772-4648
Email: gthomps@avondale.k12.az.us

Lisa Herren - Math
623-772-4650
Email: lherren@avondale.k12.az.us


Sixth Grade


Nelly Martinez - Math
623-772-4652
Email: nmartin@avondale.k12.az.us

Jose Beltran- Social Studies/Science
623-772-4651
Email: jbeltra1@avondale.k12.az.us

Stephanie Kelsey - Language Arts
623-772-4653
Email: skelsey@avondale.k12.az.us


Seventh Grade


Sandra Becker - 7th Grade Language Arts
623-772-4676
Email: sbecker@avondale.k12.az.us


Rhodesia DeShazer - 7th Grade Math
623-772-4677
Email: rdeshaz@avondale.k12.az.us

Paul Heilman- 7th & 8th  Science 
623-772-4660
Email: pheilma@avondale.k12.az.us

Eighth Grade 

Erik Manoogian - 8th Grade Math
623-772-4662
Email: emanoog@avondale.k12.az.us

Ted Robinson - 7th & 8th Social Studies
623-772-4663
Email: erobins@avondale.k12.az.us

Christine Parks-  8th Grade Language Arts
623-772-4661
Email: cparks@avondale.k12.az.us


Special Education

Maria Dominguez - K-2nd grade
623-772-4631
Email: mdoming@avondale.k12.az.us

Meegan Alfred - 3rd & 4th grades
623-772-4644
Email: malfred@avondale.k12.az.us

Amanda Hernandez - 5th-8th grades
623-772-4654
Email: ahernan2@avondale.k12.az.us

Theresa Levine - 6th-8th Resource Teacher
623-772-4678
Email: tlevine@avondale.k12.az.us

Mary Lu Segouin - K-5 Resource Teacher
623-772-4658
Email: msegoui@avondale.k12.az.us


Special Areas


Taylor Wells- PE
623-772-5075
Email: twells@avondale.k12.az.us

Jack Bagley - Technology
623-772-4665
Email: jbagley@avondale.k12.az.us

Marietta Swim - Music (@ Desert Star Quarters 3 & 4)
623-772-4626
Email: mswim@avondale.k12.az.us

Dyane Welt - Art (@ Desert Star Quarters 1 & 2)
623-772-4628
Email: dwelt@avondale.k12.az.us

Joel Hillius - Band/Choir
623-772-4627
Email: jhilliu@avondale.k12.az.us


Master Teachers

Stacy Dobbins
623-772-4657
Email: sdobbin@avondale.k12.az.us

Jennifer Albertson
623-772-4656
Email: jalbert@avondale.k12.az.us


Support Staff & Related Services

Adelita Gonzales - Secretary
623-772-4600

Mary Schafer - Secretary (Attendance)
623-772-4601

Bertha Figueroa - Cafeteria Manager
623-772-4617

Julianne Kemp - Nurse
623-772-4610

Leah Lorimer - Counselor
623-772-4611

Shelby McGrew - Psychologist Intern
623-772-4612

Chelsea Jones - Speech
623-772-4672

Interventionists
Donna Bowman
Merrilee Worden
LuAnn Wing
Jon Gaitan
Celina Montanez
Sarai Loper


Lorna Lindert - Librarian
623-772-4666

Barbara Disbrow -  Alternative Classroom Placement Coordinator

Crossing Guards
Kim Kinsel
TBD

Lunch Duty Support
Nicole Bejar
Kim Kinsel

TBD - Playworks Recess Coach

Kevin Mee- Playworks Site Coordinator

Art Nunez - Maintenance I
Elva Rangel - Day Porter